Thank You Mum.

You are one strong and passionate woman who never lets opportunities slip away. You have big dreams and limitless ambitions; often too much that suffocates me.

But, you love us. You love us with all your heart.

And if you ever see this, this is what i’d say to you:

Mum, I want you to know that I love you too, I really do.

But, you might not like hearing this. When I was younger, there never seem to be a thing I do that you’d approve of. I felt that I constantly needed validation from you.

I hated it because it made me felt weak. Inferior. And your words of disapproval are the last things that I needed to hear when I failed; in times when I lacked encouragement.

Truth is, after all these years, we still never really agreed on things. But, I am thankful. Because if not for you, those criticisms would be coming from others. If not for you, I wouldn’t be what I am today.

So, thank you mum.
Thank you for building a strong woman.
Thank you for teaching me that life is always about the chase.
Thank you for shaping my confidence.
Thank you for my independence.
Thank you for everything that I am.

Today, I am thankful because I no longer seek validation from others. I no longer try to please everyone by being what I’m not. I no longer try to seek a common ground with everyone. Because all of us are different, all of us have different values and opinions.

And because of you, I’d grown to be opinionated. I learnt to be contented. I learnt to be confident in what I do and choose. I stuck close to my values. With that, I am happy to be pursuing my passions in life.

I hope you are proud of me, because all that I am today, I owe it to you Mum. Thank you.

Love,
Your beloved daughter

Author: magdelinelee

Adventures. Travel. Love. Live. Capture Moments.

Leave a Reply

